With its renowned collection of classic and contemporary art and award-winning architecture by Richard Meier and Renzo Piano, the High Museum of Art has grown from its origins in a stately home on Peachtree Street to become the leading art museum in the southeastern United States.

History of the High

High Museum of Art Overview
  • Birdman, Atlanta, 2008
  • Blue Truck Bed, Sioux Falls, South Dakota, 2000
  • Camel Bubbles, Atlanta, 2006
  • Daddy Z’s, Atlanta, 2009
  • Midway In The Rain
  • MM Worcester
  • Naked Bench
  • Red Wall Tree Shadow
  • White On White
1 / 2

High Museum of Art Overview

The High Museum of Art is the leading art museum in the southeastern United States. Located in Midtown Atlanta's arts and business district, the High has more than 13,000 works of art in its permanent collection. The Museum has an extensive anthology of 19th- and 20th-century American art; significant holdings of European paintings and decorative art; a growing collection of African American art; and burgeoning collections of modern and contemporary art, photography and African art. The High is also dedicated to supporting and collecting works by Southern artists and is distinguished as the only major museum in North America to have a curatorial department specifically devoted to the field of folk and self-taught art.

2013-2014 Board of Directors

Louise Sams, Chair of the Board of Directors

Charles L. Abney III
Alton Adams
Spring Asher
Radcliffe Bailey
Dan Baldwin
William N. Banks, Jr.
Elizabeth Barnett
Tom Bell
Carey Benham
Jane C. Black
Daniel W. Boone III
Lucinda W. Bunnen
Frances B. Bunzl
Jack Capers
Hon. Anne Cox Chambers
Bert Clark
Jacqueline F. Clark
Grady S. Clinkscales, Jr.
Thomas G. Cousins
Cheryl Crawford
Charlene Crusoe-Ingram

Richard A. Denny, Jr.
Barbarella Diaz
Jerome Dobson
Scott C. Dozier
David Driskell
Brooke J. Edmond
Howard Elkins
Peggy Foreman
Rawson Foreman
Charlotte R. Garson
Nancy Green
M. Anthony Greene
Helen Griffith
T. Marshall Hahn, Jr.
Marge Harvey
Sara Hehir
James L. Henderson III
Ben Hill
R. Glenn Hilliard
Jack K. Holland
Robin R. Howell

Fay Howell
Karen Hughes
Bahman M. Irvani
Jane Jackson
West Johnson
Derek Johnston
Baxter Jones
Walter E. Jospin
Sarah Kennedy
Donald R. Keough
Michael Keough
Wendy Kopp
Jane Lanier
Elaine L. Levin
Renee Brody Levow
Jada Loveless
Tim Mapes
Joan Marmo
Lorri McClain
Merry McCleary
Sally S. McDaniel

Anna Mershon
James H. Morgens
Pratap C. Mukharji
Eliza Kraft Olander
Sanford H. Orkin
Richard C. Parker
Jarel Portman
Catherine Rawson
Douglas F. Reid
Arthur H. Richardson
Fred Richman
Helen B. Rieser
J. Mack Robinson
Sidney P. Rodbell
Ruth Rollins
Michael J. Russell
D. Jack Sawyer, Jr.
Henry C. Schwob
M. Alexis Scott
Sharon Newell Shirley
John Shlesinger

John W. Spiegel
Howard S. Stein
Paul N. Steinfeld
F. Terry Stent
Michelle Sullivan
Chelton D. Tanger
Amanda Taylor
Mark K. Taylor
Henrie Treadwell
Harriet Warren
Marjorie West
Joan N. Whitcomb
John F. Wieland
Loraine Williams
Elizabeth Willett
Diane L. Wisebram